Level 5 Diploma: Fire Engineering Design

This qualification is suitable for those who assess and design fire engineered buildings e.g:

  • Regulators – fire services, local building control officers and approved inspectors
  • Assessors – fire risk assessors and fire safety professionals
  • Designers – designers and architects of new buildings and alterations to existing

Qualification Units

This qualification has ten qualification units:

  1. Principles of Fire Development and Spread
  2. Principles of Fire Engineering
  3. Review the Effectiveness of Automatic Fire Suppression Systems
  4. Fire Engineering Design and its Impact on Human Behaviour
  5. Fire Engineering Design and its Impact on the Fire Resistance of Materials and Structures
  6. Smoke Control and Heat Exhaust Ventilation Systems
  7. Pressure Differential Systems
  8. Fire Engineering Design and its Impact on the External Spread of Fire
  9. Fire Engineering Design and its Impact on Access and Facilities for Fire-Fighting
  10. Principles of Fire and Evacuation Modelling

Note: This qualification has been developed in consultation with CFOA (NFCC)

Qualification routes

There are two routes to achieving this qualification:

  1. Fire Engineering Design courses
  2. RPL (Recognition of Prior Learning) process

Note: The qualification can also be achieved by a combination of the two above routes

Note: In addition to course fees, a qualification registration fee applies. See Level 5 Brochure for costs