Qualification: Level 4 Diploma in Fire Safety

This national qualification is suitable for those who assess fire safety in complex premises e.g:

  • Regulators – fire services, local building control officers and approved inspectors
  • Assessors – fire risk assessors and fire safety professionals
  • Designers – designers and architects of new buildings and alterations to existing
  • Responsible for fire safety – managers, employees, owners and occupiers

Complex Premises

This qualification applies to those who audit complex premises and venues, such as shops and shopping centres, offices, hotels, residential care homes, industrial units, firework displays and pop concerts. Premises which are beyond the range of DCLG Fire Risk Assessment Guides. They may require guidance documents such as BS 9999, BS 9991, ADB, LACORS, Sports Grounds.

 National Occupational Standards

Qualification routes

There are two routes to achieving this qualification:

  1. Attending courses: Level 4 Courses
  2. RPL (Recognition of Prior Learning): RPL route

Note: The qualification can also be achieved by a combination of the two above routes

Note: In addition to course fees, a qualification registration fee applies. See Level 4 Brochure for costs