Level 3 Certificate in Fire Safety

A National Qualification suitable for those who assess fire safety in simple buildings e.g:
•    Regulators – fire services, registered building control approvers (RBCA’s) and registered building inspectors (RBI’s)
•    Assessors – fire risk assessors and fire safety professionals
•    Responsible for fire safety – managers, employees, owners and occupiers

Level 3 Introductory Certificate in Fire Safety

For details about a National Qualification suitable for operational personnel who conduct fire safety checks of low risk simple buildings, see Level 3 Introductory Certificate in Fire Safety.

Simple buildings

This qualification applies to those who conduct audits or fire risk assessments of simple buildings, such as small shops, offices, hotels, residential care homes and industrial units with a simple layout and easy means of escape. Premises which can be easily be assessed using a DCLG Fire Risk Assessment Guide.

iVC: Interactive Virtual Classroom


Access Xact’s high quality training safely and securely from your own home or preferred location. Fully engage and converse with our expert tutors and the rest of the class face-to-face in real-time in a polished, professional learning setting. Follow link for iVC details


Three courses form this qualification, these are:

  1. Principles of fire safety course
  2. Auditing simple buildings course
  3. Gathering evidence course

For more details on these courses, see left navigation above.

National Occupational Standards (NOS)

Qualification: Level 3 Certificate in Fire Safety has six NOS: FS1, FS2, FS3, FS7, FS10, FS12:

  • FS1: Identify and report fire hazards and risks
  • FS2: Assess risks associated with fire
  • FS3: Ensure protection measures are in place
  • FS7: Review fire protection systems
  • FS10: Plan & gather evidence
  • FS12: Visit premises for purposes of fire safety

For more details about this qualification see qualifications