Auditing Complex Premises

Target audience

Fire risk assessors, fire safety officers and auditors.


Aim

To enable delegates to:

Confirm measures are in place to protect people from fire

Visit complex premises for purpose of fire safety regulation


Core topic areas

  • Risk profiling of occupancy
  • Compartmentation and ventilation
  • Horizontal and vertical means of escape
  • Means of escape in:
    • Offices and shops
    • Factories and warehouses
    • Hotels
    • Atria
    • Residential care premises
    • Shopping complexes
  • External fire spread
  • Access and facilities for the fire service
  • Fire risk assessment and audit planning
  • Fire risk assessment and auditing complex premises

Core Reference Documents

  • CLG: Fire Safety Risk Assessment Guides
  • Approved Document B
  • BS 9999: Fire Safety in Design, Management and use of Buildings
  • CFOA Fire Safety Guidance Notes and Audit Form
  • Regulators’ Code, CFOA Fire Safety Guidance

Assessment

Assessment of course work is to NOS.


Qualifications and NOS

This course includes the assessment criteria for NOS:

These NOS are from qualifications:

  1. Level 4 Certificate in Fire Safety (Fire Auditors): details
  2. Level 4 Diploma in Fire Safety (Fire Inspectors): details

For more details see: qualifications


Dates and Prices

Duration 5 Days
Dates Mon 11th Mar → Fri 15th Mar 2019
Mon 17th Jun → Fri 21st Jun 2019
Mon 4th Nov → Fri 8th Nov 2019
Mon 2nd Mar - Fri 6th Mar 2020
Mon 15th June - Fri 19th June 2020
Mon 2nd Nov - Fri 6th Nov 2020
Delegate Cost £790.00 + VAT
Location Yarnfield, Stone, Staffordshire
Accommodation Costs and details

Prior Learning

Delegates must have completed:

  • Principles of fire safety: course and
  • Principles of means of escape: Distance learning or
  • Auditing simple premises: course

Pre-Course Modules

Course include pre-course distance learning module on principles of means of escape.


Delivery

Sessions will be delivered using PowerPoint, flipchart, interactive group discussion, individual tuition, film and practical exercises.


Post Course

Delegates must complete workbooks within one month of course completion.